Conference Details

The Linguistics and English Language Postgraduate Conference is an annual event where postgraduates present ongoing work and discuss their research with peers and faculty. This year’s conference will be held on 3rd–5th June 2015.

Running for over 20 years, the conference offers a great opportunity to refine thoughts, share concerns, and receive constructive criticism in a supportive and convivial environment. Additionally, it’s a great way to gain experience in conference presentation and find out about some of the exciting things going on in the field. Attendance at the conference is free.

Submissions are invited for oral presentations and posters. The standard length of a talk will be 25 minutes (including questions). Any papers relevant to Linguistics and English Language are welcome, and submissions from external students are highly encouraged. The deadline for abstracts is midnight on 10th April 2015.

Find us on the socilinguistic events calendar here:

Plenary speakers

We are delighted that Dr Jennifer Culbertson and Prof. Geoffrey Pullum will be giving the plenary lectures at the 2015 conference. Please see the conference programme for more details.


The conference will begin with three short workshops aimed at master’s students (although all are welcome to attend). This will include a panel session with five PhD students discussing the process of writing a dissertation, a talk from Mark Atkinson on running experiments, and a talk from Dr Josef Fruehwald on data processing. Please see the conference programme for more details.

Social events

We have social events planned for each evening of the conference. This will include a conference dinner, a BBQ in the meadows (weather permitting), and a pub evening. Don’t forget to indicate which events you would like to attend when you register.

Organising committee

The organisers of the 2015 conference are: Elizabeth Adeolu, Gabrielle Blackburn, Zac Boyd, Jon Carr, Stephanie DeMarco, Juliet Dunstone, Zuzana Elliott, Weibing Liang, Yasamin Motamedi (chair), Katerina Pantoula, James Reid, Udita Sawhney, and George Starling.