The Linguistics and English Language Postgraduate Conference is an annual event hosted by the School of Philosophy, Psychology and Language Sciences at the University of Edinburgh. The conference offers postgraduate students the opportunity to present ongoing work and discuss their research with peers and faculty. This year’s conference will be held on 29th–31st May 2017.

Running for over 20 years, the conference offers a great opportunity to refine thoughts, share concerns, and receive constructive criticism in a supportive and convivial environment. Additionally, it’s a great way to gain experience in conference presentation and find out about some of the exciting things going on in the field. Attendance at the conference is free.

Submissions are invited for oral presentations and posters. Any papers relevant to Linguistics and English Language are welcome. The submission deadline is 3rd April 2017.

To stay up-to-date, follow us on Twitter and Facebook.

Plenary speakers

Prof. John Joseph and Dr Vicky Chondrogianni will be giving the plenary lectures at the 2017 conference. More details to follow.


There will be a series of workshops at the start of the conference, primarily directed at masters students. Hannah Rohde will give a workshop on research methodologies, and Rob Truswell will give a workshop on the dissertation process. We are also planning a workshop on giving a conference presentation. Full details of the workshops will be confirmed in due course.

Social events

We have a number of social activities planned for the duration of the conference. On Monday 29th there will be a conference dinner. On Tuesday 30th there will be a picnic in the meadows, followed by a language tour of Edinburgh. We'll end the conference on Wednesday with a wine reception and pub night.


Registration for the conference and social events is free. Details on how to register will be provided soon.

Organising committee

The organisers of the 2017 conference are: Mirjam Eiswirth (chair), Wenjia Cai, Jon Carr, Adam Scott Clark, Ruth Corps, Toby Dathan, Victoria Dickson, Andres Karjus, Tian Li, Maddie Long, Christine Lugrine, Miranda Stocks, Rachel Moyer, Eva Schnelten, Betül Seda Usta, Tom Wood, and Yifei Yang.